Leveraging Jesus [Whose This About?]

Is It Really About You, or Christ?
winner-02

Worship or Ambition?

The interaction between Peter and Jesus in John 21 produced one of the penetrating phrases of the New Testament;  Jesus’ question to Peter, “Do you love me?”

Entrepreneurs, innovators and leaders alike…Jesus asked the question three times… he is signaling something key. Do you love me can be loosely translated… “Peter, is this about you, or me?”  If it’s ever about you and I, it can’t be about Him.

All innovators, pioneers and missional-type leaders need to put themselves and their passion under the same scrutiny Peter had to face:

“Is what I am doing for Christ or me?”

“Is this about what Christ truly wants, or my pathology?”

“Is this about His praise or my validation?”

Keep going…

“What’s driving me: Worship or Ambition?”

“Is He enough, or do I need more?”

These questions are hard and required. By nature, we are subjective, lost in our opinions, tainted by what it means to be human, consumed with our ratings. Questions like these are what I call continuum questions; we can never be absolutely sure… but on which side of the spectrum do we land?

A case study of the life of Peter reveals a wild-eyed fisherman that people followed. It appears they followed not because he was always right, but because of his passion and willingness to believe. Peter was an early adopter. I envision Peter to be the one others would say… “if Peter’s in, than so am I!”

So when Andrew finds Christ, and find Peter announcing that the Messiah has been found (Matthew 2).., its big. And when Christ singles out Peter’s confession that Jesus is the Messiah, it was a big deal (John 6).  And when Peter jumps out of the boat, grabs the sword to defend Jesus, or proclaims he would never reject Christ, those are important moments.

Jesus’ words to Peter in John 21 come after a long series of post-resurrection appearances of Christ, and precedes Jesus’ ascension. Peter and the tribe had now seen, over and over again, proof positive that Jesus had done the impossible, and conquered the grave. Talk about big!

It is interesting that Jesus’ finds Peter and the other disciples fishing that early morning.

Sometimes leaders turn back to what they know (fishing) as opposed to moving forward into what they do not know (new movement). The fish-fry on the beach was evidence that Jesus wanted Peter the man, as opposed to Peter the worker. Jesus did not want what he knew (before), he what who he was (future).

Jesus’ three-time challenge to Peter does reveal the different declensions for love; agape and phileo has been widely discussed. Biblical accuracy is huge to me.

But I also believe Jesus appears to be after something more… intent.

Eugene Peterson’s work on The Message is so rich and vivid in terms of peering behind the text. I think a case can be made that Jesus was going after his “intent” as a leader.

“As this now begins Peter, what’s driving you?”

“Peter… are you in this for you, or for me?”

“Are you in this to leverage me, and benefit from what you have seen , or do you love me?

To leverage means to exert “power to influence a person or situation to achieve a particular outcome.”  Peter could do that. He had the wiring and natural abilities. He was a promoter. Where he decided to go, others went. What he did, others would follow. So it is with many of us.

Peter tries to deflect.  He wants to know why Jesus isn’t also going after the others… like John for example. All attempts to skirt the issue. Just like many of us.

Yet Peter knew that Jesus knew… his intent in the future must be love… not leverage. A message that leaders like many of us must sit, take in and feel its challenge.

My pathology says I can sometimes care more about what others think, than what Jesus thinks. I can catch myself wandering down the leverage hallway… rather than the sanctuary. All leaders must admit that. All leaders must re-visit that question… “do you love me?”

What do you think? Are you in it for Him or you?

Can Jesus actually trust you to lead from a base of intimacy and surrender? Or will your instincts take you to your natural abilities and personality?

Are you in it for Him, or for You?

© Terry Walling 2014

4 thoughts on “Leveraging Jesus [Whose This About?]

  1. Hearing that leverage can either creep in or be the underlying core of intent is for me surprisingly freeing (as opposed to shaming). And especially when I hear it coming from the heart and intent of Jesus to me. That Jesus went after the core of Peter’s being because He wanted Zoe abundant life and love for Peter (and me) and that He wanted freedom for Peter (and me) from the death that follows in attempting to leverage God (wow–that’s an incredibly evil type life when you think about it) to actually being first held by the love of God is the only intent I can really trust.

    When Jesus “gets underneath” the issues for Peter and me it simplifies leadership and frees me from managing and protecting my vocational call and reputatuon and moves life into getting to follow Him in the truly grand adventure. I’m guessing it’s because I’m now in my late 50s, and the place of my relationship with my loving Lord, that I can finally agree with the Lord in my soul when I’ve come to using the Lord for leverage in ministry or am truly loving and following Him without so much defensiveness. BUT ‘intentionally noticing’ remains both the key and longed for rhythmn. And I’m grateful for Terrys poignant meditation and more so Jesus going after all of us over and over with the question.

    • Incredible insight Karen. And your comments related to the freedom that knowing that He loves us… and that is His motivation for us really minister to me. Thanks for taking the time to comment and bless us all!

      Terry

  2. Greetings from Anglican Mission Winter Conference, Terry , in Houston TX. Once again your message is very convicting. May it be all about Him.

    Blessings,

    Ed Hird+

Comments?

